Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit agency variances & general questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit agency variances & general questions

Hi All - Thank you in advance to anyone who has thoughts to share. I'll try to be concise. Despite a high degree of overall financial understanding (I'm a corporate tax attorney and CPA), the consumer credit world is opaque and often confusing. My goal is to better understand why my scores are what they are and what to expect going forward. I see my Experian score through USAA, where I bank, and TransUnion via Discover. I've used myFICO in the past as well.

1. My Experian score is 667 and TransUnion is 714. This strikes me as a rather wide gap, especially since I don't see any difference in the data they are pulling. Is this possibly not an apples-to-apples comparison? E.g., one is a 'Fico 8' (this is what Discover provides) while the Experian report is something else? They also have moved differently in the past 6 months, with TransUnion up around 15 and Experience down around 15. The only real credit events in that time would be credit card usage.

2. Since I was a teenager (I'm now 32) I've been an authorized user on a couple of my parents' credit cards. Payment information on those cards shows up on all 3 of my reports. I don't think these are impacting my score - I know they shouldn't be since I have no ownership of the accounts - but it's hard to tell. There are no late payments on those cards, but for instance, my mom is using most of her Discover card balance. Could those cards be impacting my score at all? I don't actually use them anymore, so I'm free to do whatever makes sense for credit purposes.