Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Employer and Fico score

tag
cam
New Visitor
New Visitor

Employer and Fico score

I recently left my employer to go back to school.

They are saying that I was overpaid by $3500, which I don't understand since I was getting paychecks up until the day I left.

Anyhow my question is this, If I chose not to pay the amount back to them, could they legally place that information on my credit report and thus affect my fico score.  (My thinking is that I never agreed to any terms, payment plans, or signed any contract for service and therefore they wouldn't be allowed as a creditor and couldn't be placed on there.  what do you think or know about this?

Thanks,
Craig
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
MidnightVoice
Super Contributor

Re: Employer and Fico score

I am not an expert, but if they think they have a valid legal case, they could just pass it on to a collection agancy and that will go on your report.

Or they could seek a judgement in court.

Have you asked WHY they think you owe them the money?
The slide from grace is really more like gliding
And I've found the trick is not to stop the sliding
But to find a graceful way of staying slid
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Depends on how long it has been too. If past a period of time (ask a lawyer) they can not hold you responsible to pay it back. And before you do anything, you need to check all your records to make sure they are not wrong. Maybe they did not over pay you.

Message Edited by ilovepizza on 06-10-2007 06:11 PM
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

cam wrote:
I recently left my employer to go back to school.

They are saying that I was overpaid by $3500, which I don't understand since I was getting paychecks up until the day I left.