cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FICO 8 score 114 points lower than CreditWise??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

FICO 8 score 114 points lower than CreditWise??

Hi everyone, apologies if this has been covered ad nauseum.

Background: I’ve been rebuilding for several years. In the past I’d never paid that close attention to my credit scores. Got a Cap One QS card about 7 months ago ($1500 CL) and then about 2 weeks ago was approved for a Discover IT card with a $10.5K CL. These are my only 2 CCs.

I was naturally checking my scores with CreditWise, as provided w/ my Cap One card. Now that I have the Disco IT card, I got my first FICO, which is a shocking *114 points lower* than CW.

I’ve learned thru reading the forum that CW reporting is basically bunk when it comes to scores...but ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTEEN POINTS difference?? Is this a normal discrepancy between the two?

And for my own understanding, the Discover reports shows “FICO 8” which is TU—is that correct?

Thanks for your help.

-chinto
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: FICO 8 score 114 points lower than CreditWise??

(Edited for typos)
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

The score you get from CreditWise is a TU VS 3.0 score.  The score you get from your Discover card account is a TU FICO 8 score.  These are completely different scoring models.  People have reported ~100 points difference between the two in the past... some say their VS 3.0's are higher, while some say they are lower.  It's really an apples to oranges comparison.

If you'd like another free FICO 8 score, you can get your EX FICO 8 from creditscorecard.com.  That's also provided by Discover, but you don't have to be a Discover cardholder to get it. 

Definitely ignore any VS 3.0 scores and only focus on your FICO scores. 

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable