Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From 730 to 630 in 6 months

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

From 730 to 630 in 6 months

Hey guys. First post here. Trying to figure out how to right the sinking ship that is my credit. At the beginning of this year we totaled my wife's car. Insurance paid off the loan and we bought another car for her in January. At the time my score was 730. Upon the first loan closing my score dropped 20 points to 710. In March I opened an account with Cornwell tools since I bought a new tool box. (I'm a diesel mechanic for caterpillar) my score dropped to 690. In the beginning of July I bought a new to me truck since my old beater was falling apart and getting more expensive monthly than what a truck payment would cost me. Since the truck was used I bought new tires for it on a les schwab account in the end of July. I was unaware that les schwab credit shows up as a maxed out credit card on your credit score. I needed to finance 2000 so they made that my limit and now I have a maxed out "credit card" against me. My credit score as of today is 630. In total I have 5 accounts on my credit. My truck, wife's car, Cornwell, les schwab, and one credit card through a local credit union. The limit on that card is only $500. I got the card when I tuned 18 4 years ago and only use it for paying utilities and pay it off every month. I was looking to get a new credit card to pay off the les schwab since they don't do credit increases but I've gotten denied or offered a $300 limit on everything I've tried. My income is around $60k before overtime. Wife works for the school district and makes about $30k. We like to keep our finances separate unless it's a car loan or something big. She pays for her car I pay for mine but we're both on both loans. I was thinking if I could get a credit card for say $3500 and pay off the schwab account with it I could get rid of the 98% credit utilization that my credit shows and get things turned around b