Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Greener Grass - Improving My Scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Greener Grass - Improving My Scores

Hello All, 

This is my first time posting, so bare with me as I'm new to forums.

I started cleaning up my credit February 2018 with the goal of buying a house early 2019. My score in February was 471. I had multiple collection accounts (about 15), two credit cards through Capital One, a Fingerhut shopping account and my car loan. March of 2018, I paid off all the collection accounts, so there is nothing else on my credit showing delinquent. My student loans went into repayment without me realizing it, so there is a past due mark on those, but I have since consolidated those and they are current (Late status still showing). My two credit cards also fell delinquent December 2017 and even though those are current and have a ZERO balance, the past due mark is still on my report.

Fast forward to today. My credit scores at EQ649, TU651 & EXP633. I have since acquired two retail credit cards and two major credit cards (Discover and AmEx). My question is, I really want to his my goal of having a 750 score, but there literally isn't anything I can clean up on my report to push my score higher. At this point, is making regular payments the only thing I can do? With my credit cards, if I do use them, I try to pay them off before the statements hits, but I also realize that if no balance is reported from one statement to another, that isn't helping me either. 

Any advice is appreciated!

-Leah

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Sadie5150
Regular Contributor

Re: Greener Grass - Improving My Scores

Just curious.  Were you able to get your collections removed when you paid them?  Or are they still on your CR and showing as paid?

Congrats on your credit clean up.  Sounds like your hard work has paid off for you so far Smiley Happy

Message 2 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Imon2ya,