Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hard Inquiry on No Credit History

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hard Inquiry on No Credit History

Hi I am new to US and my social security is pending and I will get it in around 6-8 weeks. When I landed friend suggested to get a secured credit card on my ITIN (which I have for a year) to start building credit history asap and then have it transferred to SSN when I get the SSN. 

I got a bank of america travel secured card of $2000 limit with $2k deposit. By the time I got hold of the information about the graduation on this forum, I realized I might need the cash so I went to decrease the limit to $300 to which bank officer made me reapply a new card with lower limit and close the card I got with $2k limit. That application got denied so he made another one. Now upon reading I found out the concept of hard inquiry.

My questions are:
1. Does hard inquiry show up on person's file with no credit history since 3 secured card applications have been made from the same bank? 

2. If above is true, Should I not get credit card from bank of america and do not update my SSN with them for a while since I am not actively banking with them?

3. If I do not request credit unions to shift my credit history and just update my SSN eventually in the running card does the running score start to reflect on the SSN based file or does it bring all the previous data with it or Do I have to request manual update with credit bueraus in any case?

Looking for help and guidance on this matter. 

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

Re: Hard Inquiry on No Credit History

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi I am new to US and my social security is pending and I will get it in around 6-8 weeks. When I landed friend suggested to get a secured credit card on my ITIN (which I have for a year) to start building credit history asap and then have it transferred to SSN when I get the SSN.