cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need a quick bump - Mortgage scores are so much lower!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I need a quick bump - Mortgage scores are so much lower!

Hello all:

Applying for a jumbo loan in California, and I'm still amazed at the difference between the consumer numbers and the numbers our lender gave us (which are lower still than the Fico 2 that MyFico shows).

My Experian is 704, Equifax 680, Transunion 689. I need that middle score (TransUnion) bumped - ideally to 700+. 

Any ideas? FWIW, my Fico Score 8 numbers are Esperian 742, Equifax 757, TransUnion 750. I have no credit card debt, $25k in student loans, and a $20k car loan that I've never missed a payment on.

3 90-day lates in 2014 on a student loan that are reporting 3 times each because the loan is a consolidation - one payment. I changed banks and moved and the loans came out of forebearance. I've been carrying that shame around my neck for 3 years now. 

ALL ideas would be so helpful.

Thank you!
Kristen

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I need a quick bump - Mortgage scores are so much lower!

If you can get those delinquencies removed, assuming they are your only baddies you stand to see a 40-60 point gain most likely.  I'd target them hardcore and see what you can do to get them off of your report.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Awesome. What would you do to get them off?  How do you even do that?  Every time I call a creditor to ask them to remove something, they say, "We are legally bound to report correctly and cannot remove correct information from your account."

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

What is your util like? Do you currently have any installment loans reporting open?

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable