Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increase my credit score from 711 to 720+

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Increase my credit score from 711 to 720+

Hello - I'm in the process of buying a second home which will become my primary residence.  My salary is ~150k/year.  My first mortgage will remain on my credit because that is where my parents will continue to live.  I will be moving to the new home with my child so that we can all live separately - and peacefully!

The home is a new construction which will be ready in 5 months.  I already have the sales contract so I'm on the hook.  I was told by the mortgage lender that my FICO Mortgage score is 711.  I have read that a score of 720 gets significantly better rates.  I've already read the Frequently Request Threads post on this forum and have started working on some issues.  Since this is my first time trying to improve my FICO scores, I could really use some help.  

1. I cannot do BT to my $0 balance cards.  So, when deciding to pay down my credit cards, should I pay off the higher utilizations?  Pay off the smaller balances?  I included my account balances at the bottom of this post.
  2. Is a report of 3 late payments 12 months ago affecting me greatly? The CCC denied my petition to erase the bad marks over the phone today, should I try a letter?  Or should I try to hire a credit repair company to help me remove that?
  3. I just realized that an account I opened 19 years ago was closed just last June 2018.  Is it possible to ask the bank to reopen it?  Or is that a lost cause?  

THANK YOU so much in advance for any help and feedback you can give me! Best regards!

This is my current snapshot:

Overall Credit Use: 30%

Payment History: 100%

Derrogatory Marks: TU = 0, EQ/EX: 1 account

Credit Age: 5 yrs 7 Mos

Total Accounts: 29

Hard Inquiries: 5 Total:  2 in 2018 and 1 in 2017 and 2 in 2016

These are my accounts:

Auto Loans