Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my credit score too good to be true?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is my credit score too good to be true?

I am a 23-year-old medical student. I am very, very fortunate to still receive financial help from my parents, and I pay the rest of my bills with student loans. I came to med school straight out of undergrad, so I've never had a *real* job. I have no credit history apart from student loans. I recently realized that I should start building my credit now (should've started 5 years ago, but oh well), so that when I get out into the real world in a few years I will at least have some kind of head start. I've been looking into getting a credit card to buy something small once a month that I would ordinarily pay with debit card and immediately pay off the balance. I was looking into getting something like the Capital One Secured Mastercard. I made an account with Nerd Wallet just to see what my credit score would be with only student loans as my credit history, but I was shocked to see that they listed my credit score as 780! When I looked under payment history, I saw a credit card account with a start date 3 years before I was born. That's my parents' credit card. When I started college, they put me on their account so I would have a way to pay for big car repairs and medical bills without draining my checking account. They pay the bill, not me. I know Nerd Wallet is just a free service, so it may not be an accurate credit score. Would a legit credit service looking at my credit score not be fooled by my parents' credit card account that my name is tagged onto and calculate my credit score differently? If so, how do I figure out what my real credit score is? Or does it even matter? Should I just go ahead and get a secured credit card and start building my credit anyway? Thanks in advance!

13 REPLIES 13
AllZero
Mega Contributor

Re: Is my credit score too good to be true?