cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for advice...Credit card utilization in advance of refinance and 2nd home purchase

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Looking for advice...Credit card utilization in advance of refinance and 2nd home purchase

Ok, I am a newbie to this and was hoping for some advice.  I am preparing to refinance my home in the next month or twoand potentially even buy a second home as an investment in a few months.  My current mortgage scores are 704 (TU), 708 (EXP) and 720 (EFX).  I was hoping to try and get my middle score up to at least 720 before I refi.  I paid one of my credit cards down to a zero balance, it had $3193 on it with a line of credit of $13,500 and my credit score didn't move a point.

Below is a summary of where my accounts currently stand:

WF: $0 Balance, $13,500 Credit Limit

Cap One: Reporting a $842 Balance,  $10,500 Credit Limit

Chase: Reporting a $7222 Balance, $20,700 Credit Limit

Discover: Reporting a $0 Balance, $13,900 Credit Limit

Again, I thought I would get some movement on the WF paying it off from a $3193 balance but nothing.  If anyone can give me any advice on what are the optimization % breaks for Chase and Cap One I would appreciate it.  The Chase monthly payment is due on the 3rd so appreciate any advice in the near term.  I have the money to pay down the Chase but could use it for other things so I'll be pretty frustrated if I dump $5 to $7K and it doesn't move a dime.  

Also, should I pay off Cap One (it's due on the 8th)? 

For the Discover card, I am an authorized user for my mom's account and I've been on it for about 5 years.  When they calculate total utilization is it taking into account the Discover card?

I have a few late payments that are affecting my score some with the most recent being 19 months ago.  All of the others are 3 years plus.

Thanks in advance for any help.

12 REPLIES 12
AllZero
Mega Contributor