cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New credit card owner with scores improving quickly...what to expect?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New credit card owner with scores improving quickly...what to expect?

I am a college student and just opened my first credit card in September. It's the Discover It Secured Card and I have a $200 credit limit which I chose to be safe since I currently only work a part-time on-campus job. The only other credit history I have are from small student loans (2 x $1000) that were paid off within 3 months of opening, and were opened 4 years ago.

I've been seeing pretty good increases in my credit scores since September: FICO just jumped from 677 to 731 in this past month's update, and my checking account which tells me my Transunion score shows me the following history:

September - 613

October (new account is now on record) - 628

November (balance of $7/4% utilization) - 642

December (balance of $61/31% utilization) - 670

I'm wondering if I will continue to see to see big improvements in the next few months if I keep paying on time and maintain relatively low credit utilization? Or is this probably going to plateau soon?  I also have no idea why my FICO score jumped 54 points. Also, why could my FICO and Transunion scores possibly be so different? 

I've been reading a little bit about tips for increasing credit scores, but I'm wondering if people with more experience have other advice!! I'd love to get another card with more benefits (even though I don't really need it...), or at the very least find out what else might be out there for someone in my sort of situation, things to look forward to mostly.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New credit card owner with scores improving quickly...what to expect?

Is the score provided by your checking account a FICO score?  If not it has no real value and you should stop investing effort in tracking it or explaining it.