cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd and frustrating FICO score behavior

tag
SamMartin

Odd and frustrating FICO score behavior

Like others posting recently, I've observed uncommon and frustrating changes with my credit score. I've been rebuilding my credit diligently for the past 3 years, and as a result my score has climbed steadily. My credit behavior is consistent, I rarely utilize more than 2% of my available credit and I often report $0 balances altogether, this has never or rarely impacted my credit score in a negative way before... until now. 

My score had been sitting around 684 for a little while, and after the formula changed it dropped to 664. This was aggravating, but I accepted that this change happened as a result of the FICO scoring upgrade. Then, a few days later, when my Capital One MC balance dropped from $130 to $0, my FICO score dropped an additional 35 points to 629. So, adding it up, that's a drop of 55 points in the span of a few days, and the only thing to cause such a steep drop is the payoff a credit card that had a low balance to begin with. This is the lowest my score has been in a year, and it's frustrating for so many reasons. 1) I've worked hard to get my credit score where it was, and I feel like I've been punished for practicing good behavior by keeping my balances low and paying my bills.  2) I was on the verge of applying for a car loan, and this score change is going to negatively impact the interest rate I receive and 3) I've called MyFico several times, and the supervisors there claim that my second score drop of 35 points happened only because I paid an already small balance down to $0, yet none of them can explain satisfactorily why it dropped so severely.