cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Score dropped after paying down balances...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Score dropped after paying down balances...

I paid down a couple of balances recently. And, it showed under each balance that I paid down that my Equfax score had dropped 4 points... I'm new to MyFico and Fico scoring. So, I'm completely confused.

Does anybody know why this would drop a score?

To further clarify, I paid off my Discover card- 32 dollar balance. And, I paid off my Best Buy card - had a 553 dollar balance.

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
lhcole77
Valued Contributor

Re: Score dropped after paying down balances...

@Anonymous wrote:

I paid down a couple of balances recently. And, it showed under each balance that I paid down that my Equfax score had dropped 4 points... I'm new to MyFico and Fico scoring. So, I'm completely confused.

Does anybody know why this would drop a score?

To further clarify, I paid off my Discover card- 32 dollar balance. And, I paid off my Best Buy card - had a 553 dollar balance.

How many of your cards are now reporting a balance?

Message 2 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Only cards reporting balances now are:

BOA Better Balance MC : 211

AMEX ED: 33

AMEX BC: 80

Message 3 of 17
lhcole77
Valued Contributor

Normally when I read posts about score drops after paying off balances it is because a person's report has all accounts reporting zero balances. That could cause a ding in scoring.

Since that's not the case in your situation I wonder if there have been any other changes to your report.

Any new TLs? New INQs? 

Message 4 of 17
NRB525
Super Contributor

+1

OP you have only just joined? Like two days?

High Bal Jan 2009 $116k on $146k limits 80% Util.
Oct 2014 $46k on $127k 36% util EQ 722 TU 727 EX 727
April 2018 $18k on $344k 5% util EQ 806 TU 810 EX 812
Jan 2019 $7.6k on $360k EQ 832 TU 839 EX 831
March 2021 $33k on $312k EQ 796 TU 798 EX 801