Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I leave a balance?

tag
Reeflex
Established Member

Should I leave a balance?

Hello everyone, so in one of my posts I mentioned my score dropping 14 points and I thought it was my credit history since I opened a new card. I’m partially correct but multiple people mentioned saying that it could also be since I don’t leave a balance in my cards. My question is should start leaving 1% across all cards to have 3% total or should I alternate between leaving 1% this month on the amex then 1% the next month on the discovery? Or should I not leave a balance? I’m fairly new to credit building and don’t want to jeopardize it or not properly build my score up over foolish things like not leaving a balance or leaving a balance. Thank you!

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

Re: Should I leave a balance?

For optimal scoring, report a small balance on one card ($5, but not much more), with the rest reporting zero.

Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

There is an important distinction between "carrying a balance" and "reporting a balance". You don't need to pay any interest on your cards to get a score boost. When your credit card statement date comes around it takes a snapshot of your balance and reports that to the credit bureaus. The optimal for scoring would be to have one card report less than 8.99% but greater then $0. Then have the rest of your cards report $0, its commonly referred to here at the AZEO (All zero except one) method. After you get your credit card statement you do not need to carry any balance forward. Pay in full during your grace period and you won't pay any interest and you will get the same score boost.

Message 3 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable