cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will my score go up from transitioning to unsecured Discover It?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will my score go up from transitioning to unsecured Discover It?

I received my 7th statement from Discover a few days ago and just found out this morning that I now have an unsecured card and that they raised my credit limit from $200 to $1800. I'm too impatient to wait a month to see -- is this likely to help my score at all? From what I know right now I have FICO 8 756 Experian, 740 TU, not sure about Equifax (is there somewhere free to get this one?). My Discover FICO scorecard says that after my first month I had 677 TU. I've consistently used about 4% of my credit per month except for one month when I used 30% and my score dropped 25 points. Learned from that mistake!

I'm a college student with no credit history other than this card, and I know that age of accounts and number of accounts also contributes. Is there anything else I can do to help my score? I realize it doesn't really matter too much since I'm not currently looking to apply for any loans, but I might go to grad school and am hoping I could take out a loan for that. 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

Re: Will my score go up from transitioning to unsecured Discover It?

@Anonymous wrote:

I received my 7th statement from Discover a few days ago and just found out this morning that I now have an unsecured card and that they raised my credit limit from $200 to $1800. I'm too impatient to wait a month to see -- is this likely to help my score at all? From what I know right now I have FICO 8 756 Experian, 740 TU, not sure about Equifax (is there somewhere free to get this one?). My Discover FICO scorecard says that after my first month I had 677 TU. I've consistently used about 4% of my credit per month except for one month when I used 30% and my score dropped 25 points. Learned from that mistake!