cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wow went from 655 to 676 on Experian!!!

Contributor

Wow went from 655 to 676 on Experian!!!

I am new to this hobby of tracking your file thru the CRA's. I am learning and continuing to learn by others who post throughout this community. With what I have so far learned about my credit I feel so empowered! Yesterday I was on my Experian file and I was at 655, this morning I checked and my number went to 676!! Thats a 21 point difference that I'm not sure how it got there. But here are some data points:

Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 10.06.41 AM.pngScreen Shot 2018-10-12 at 10.07.19 AM.png

Overall my utlization decreased a total of 53%. Is Experian looking at my overall uti drop or my overall AAOA? or both?

Thanks for your advice and explanations guys!!

Joined myFico community 9-15-18
FICO® Score 8 as of 10-2018
Total CL $34k

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES
Super Contributor

Re: Wow went from 655 to 676 on Experian!!!

@dancer5678Thats a 21 point difference that I'm not sure how it got there.

First, congrats on your score improvement.  No doubt the paying down of your balances (utilization improvement) is helping here. 

That being said, your overall utilization did not decrease by 53%.  To get your overall utilization you need to take your total combined balances and divide that by your total overall limits.  You want to do this before/after to obtain your overall utilization percentage at both times and take the difference between the two.