Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to apply windfalls?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

how to apply windfalls?

Beginning in about March 07 my situation changed for the better and I am on a 1-year mission to improve my (current) ~565 to a mortgage-worthy score. I had late payments in Nov. and Dec. 06 but since then have been paying on time, and as often as possible paying extra. I have a large student loan (~$46,000) and a large "revolving" consumer loan (now ~$9500, from $11K originally loaned) and a minor credit card (currently $600 on a $950 limit). By working through Consumer Credit Counseling Service I majorly reduced the interest rate on my "revolving" loan but the open-credit aspect of it was shut off (it is no longer "revolving"). I am a freelance copy editor and about every other month get a nice contract from a book publisher that amounts to a windfall of anywhere from ~$800 to as much as $3000. Would it be best to apply these windfalls to the student loan, or to the consumer loan? I believe a lender would take my total debt versus my income into consideration, so maybe it would not even matter, since the extra payment reduces my overall debt. One thing that is ruining my score is a high "utilization" rate--is this applied only to things like credit cards and revolving loans, or are they talking about my student loan, also (which has not been reduced by very much)? thank you!
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: how to apply windfalls?

What is the interest rate on each of the three items?

What is your best estimate for the total amount of "windfall" income you expect to receive during the next 12 months?
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable