Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

is this normal or is it just me....

tag
JcT21
Frequent Contributor

is this normal or is it just me....

ive been doing the AZEO since december 2020.   i let my cap1 QS report a small balance.  its always less than $80.  i have a $3,300 CL on this card.   this month i messed up and didnt pay down my balance for an amazon purchase.   i had forgot about it really till i got my statement and my reporting balance went from $73 to $179.27     i thought it wouldnt be that big of a deal but my EX fico score dropped 6 points because of that tiny increase.  i got all these notififations saying "balance increase"  "could harm"  type messages.  i havent checked the others yet. i assume they will be similar.   both CK scores dropped 1 point also. 

is this something that normally justifies a drop like this over a tiny balance even though i have less than 1% utilization over all limits?

fico scores - March 2024:
TU - 727 | EX - 732 | EQ - 736 |
TCL - 168K - UTIL - less than 1%
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
SoonerSoldier33
Frequent Contributor

Re: is this normal or is it just me....

There are individual revolving utilization thresholds along with aggregate. The lower individual thresholds differ among the different scorecards, and aren't very well understood yet. You crossed 5% of that card's individual balance. You seem to be pretty good proof that there's a 5% individual utilization threshold on your current scorecard. Of course, utilization has no memory in current FICO models, so you'll get all your points back when you get back to AZEO.

Team Garden Club as of Oct 2021
Message 2 of 6
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

How many cards do you have? If its a thin file then yes 6 points is normal. Your still under 8% which is the next threshold. Nothing to worry about. Dont go by what CK says. Were all doomed if a balance goes up. Back to AZEO and back come the points. 6 pts isnt much to worry about.