Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

paying in full on credit report?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

paying in full on credit report?

Correct me if I'm wrong but the creit card balance that gets reported on one's credit report is just the statement balance at the end of the month, which doesn't really tell if you pay in full when you get the bill or are actually carrying a balance with interest. Same goes for paying in full before the statement due date - a $0 statement balance can also mean you didn't charge anything on that credit card for the month. If someone pays in full every month, is that somehow reflected on the credit report and does it improve the FICO score at all?

A newbie here, thanks for your help!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Lel
Moderator Emeritus

Re: paying in full on credit report?

@Anonymous wrote:

Correct me if I'm wrong but the creit card balance that gets reported on one's credit report is just the statement balance at the end of the month, which doesn't really tell if you pay in full when you get the bill or are actually carrying a balance with interest. Same goes for paying in full before the statement due date - a $0 statement balance can also mean you didn't charge anything on that credit card for the month. If someone pays in full every month, is that somehow reflected on the credit report and does it improve the FICO score at all?

A newbie here, thanks for your help!

Correct.  The statement balance is what is reported and is what is used to calculate your FICO score.  So, if you have $5000 in CL and max it out, it will have a negative effect on your FICO score even if you pay it in full each and every month.