Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

""FICO 8" vs "FICO 5-4-2 Mortgage" Scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

""FICO 8" vs "FICO 5-4-2 Mortgage" Scores

I have been a myfico.com subscriber for over a year and have purchased the 3B report 1-4 times a month in preparation for a home re-fi I am just beginning to initiate.

My recent FICO scores represented very strange behavior over the past 2 weeks, and I'd love some input into how this situation could possilbly happen:

(1)  Per my September 27, 2018 3B report, my 3 FICO 8 scores were 772-771-776.  My FICO 5-4-2 scores (i.e. mortgage scores) were 729-739-755.

(2) Between September 27 and October 7, I received 24 "alerts" from myfico.com - and all 24 represented a decrease in balances owed on various accounts as payments were reveived by various creditors.

(3)  Per my October 7, 3B report, my FICO 8 scores were 772-771-783 - so the only change in FICO 8 scores was that the Experian FICO 8 score increased by 7 points.  That being said, on the same report, my FICO 5-4-2 scores were 732-755-719.

It is reasonable to think that, based on the alerts I received between September 27 and October 7, all of my FICO scores would increase.  And all of the scores did increase EXCET the Experian FICO 2 score which dropped from 755 to 719.  That is a huge drop.  How is that possible?

I spoke with several myfico.com customer service reps on the phone, but they didn't even seem to understand the question let alone try to give a plausbile answer.  They just told me that "scoring was too complicated for me to understand" and that "if I wanted my score to increase then I should make more payments towards my debts".