cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Few questions: I have charges offs but 100% payment history / Should i pay my CO accounts in full.

tag
Iceemk4
Established Member

Few questions: I have charges offs but 100% payment history / Should i pay my CO accounts in full.

Was told about this forum a few months ago and since then I've learned a lot. This is my first time posting so i just wanted to say hello and thank you to everyone!

I have a few questions that I cant find the answers to though.

I had 3 CC accounts that I stoped paying for back around October of 2018. I made a few bad decisions and I didn't know any better. ( 1 was recently was deleted from experian and TransUnion. Not sure why but I read that sometimes accounts can get deleted from your report even before the 7 years so yay!)

My questions are as follows:

1: If the 3  accounts were charged off, how does credit Karma and experian still show i have 0 derogetory marks and 100% payment history and should I be worried about this changing and dropping my score (its been almost 5 years )

2: Ive been thinking about getting a small loan to pay my charge offs but i dont know if this is a good idea considering the age of the accounts. Considering we want to buy a house within the next year or so and i clearly need to get my credit up for that, should I do this? I dont want my credit to be the reason we cant move forward if we actually somehow find a good deal in this crappy market.

Finally,

3: Should I pay the reported balances in full because for 2 of the cards huge percentage of the reported balances are feesfrom when i stopped payment. None of these cards were maxed out when I stopped paying. High usage yes but not maxed.

My score was around 700s when all this happened and Im finally trying to get things fixed (yea i know, kinda late but you live and you learn)

Thanks for any help!

Info

Current Scores:

From Credit Karma

TU: 583

Equifax: 605

From Experian

Experian: 640