cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Real talk... Does an authorized user tradeline actually help rebuild credit?

tag
jmcmillan
Frequent Contributor

Real talk... Does an authorized user tradeline actually help rebuild credit?

OK, so I am a veteran at rebuilding. I am currently on my second rebuild after I filed for bankruptcy last year.

I hear a LOT about putting yourself as an authorized user on someone else’s credit card. I’ve always dismissed this idea, because I don’t believe it’s very beneficial, especially in manual underwriting. However, I recently saw another veteran member mentioning that s/he wish they knew about becoming an authorized user back in the day, so s/he could have avoided predatory rebuilding cards. That made me think… am I missing out?

At the same time, I have noticed my mother has two Chase credit cards that are 15 years old. Should I ask her to add me?

I already have 3 secured credit cards with a $1,000 credit line each.

Edit to add: I don't necessarily need age. I have several cards on my reports that were paid/closed way before my bk. My AAoA is 9 years, and my oldest credit line is 19 years.

Message 1 of 30
29 REPLIES 29
Horseshoez
Senior Contributor

Re: Real talk... Does an authorized user tradeline actually help rebuild credit?

@jmcmillan, I'm not much of an advocate for AUs of any stripe and think if one can make do and rebuild without popping the AU genie out of the bottle, so much the better.

I categorically refuse to do AZEO!
Message 2 of 30
jmcmillan
Frequent Contributor

Re: Real talk... Does an authorized user tradeline actually help rebuild credit?

@Horseshoez wrote:

I'm not much of an advocate for AUs of any stripe and think if one can make do and rebuild without popping the AU genie out of the bottle, so much the better.