Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding Credit and looking to apply for Credit Cards

tag
minniesky

Rebuilding Credit and looking to apply for Credit Cards

Hello all,

This is my first post and I am recently learning and understanding how credit and credit profiles work. 

I have been avoiding my credit profile since 2017 when I went into charge off status on my USAA car loan, a NFCU cc, and defaulted on my mortgage for more than 180 days. At the time, my income had dropped due to a lay-off and taking a new job that barely paid me ~$30k/yr, a 50% decline in income. I stayed at that job for way too long (4 years) and could not continue to manage my bills because of the huge decline in income, hence the charge-offs and mortgage default.

In 2017, I ended up selling my home before it went into foreclosure with a minimal profit so there are still the vestiges of those lates payments on my credit profile, but with paid off status for at least the past four years. Last month I settled the NFCU cc charge off (balance $7,068) for $3k, which boosted my scores by 30+ points, decreased my high reporting utilization %, resulted in a paid status, and will ultimately stop the monthly c/o reporting and allow it to age. 

I still have the car that USAA charged off in 2017; of which they are reporting c/o every single month with a $17,586 balance. While USAA remains the OC, they are using American Coradiuis to collect on the debt. I am certain, based on my annual credit report DoFD, the SOL expires in July ( I live in Texas). However, I sent at least three settlement letters to both USAA and ACI to settle the debt to no avail. USAA won't settle, they keep referring me to ACI and ACI wants $13k to settle... which is more than I have to pay. I have started my negotiations at $5k, and am willing to go to $7k to settle. Looking for any advice here on the best way to approach as my letters have not yielded much results.