Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Advice

tag
mashdun
Established Member

Need Advice

Hi everyone. I've finally decided to do something about my credit that I have been avoiding since my divorce 5 years ago. In my divorce, my wife was awarded a vehicle that I had financed through Capital One. We had filed for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy a couple years before due to having almost $100K in medical bills, so she could not get the vehicle financed in her name after our divorce. Instead, I let her just make the payments through my loan account... or at least I thought. She quit making payments 2 months after the divorce and 6 months later Capital One (their repo people) came to me wanting their car back... which I had to track her down to get. I tried to arrange to have the payments caught up, but they refused. Since then... they have put a judgement on me ($1900 in July 2009), which I have never paid... been trying to get my ex to pay since I haven't had the money to pay.

It now shows on my credit report that the $2600 balance of the repo on the Capital One Auto Finance account has been closed as a Charge-Off. I received a letter in the mail yesterday from Capital One saying that I can make a one time payment of $393.48 and they will list this account as "Settled in Full" by all the major credit agencies. The remaining amount will be treated as "forgiven debt."

I called Capital One and explained that this was something that happened through a divorce and I'd be willing to pay off the entire balance if they would delete it completely off my credit report. They said they would not remove it from my credit report. So... Should I pay this $393.48 even though it's official charged-off as of Aug 2012? Will paying a portion of the total (paying the settlement) help my credit?