Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help planning my next step

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need help planning my next step

Hi!  I am new to this forum, so please excuse my ignorance to abbreviations. 

I've been working on my credit for the past 2 years.  I began with a credit score of 415 and today I am up to 580.  Obviously I'd like to go higher.  All of my lines of credit are paid on time and I pay my credit card balances in full each month BEFORE the cycle date.  That way I always have 0% debt, but I'm still using my cards.  To date I have 1 $500 Cap One card, 1 $1500 New Mill card, 1 $300 Kohl's card, 1 $350 VS Card, and 1 $1000 secured loan through my credit union.  4 hard inquiries.  Will raising my credit limits increase my score?

I do have a some old medical collections on my credit.  I paid 6 of them yesterday.  Will having some of those paid off or come off my report raise my score, or only if all of them are off or paid?  What would be a good next step in this situation? 

I really appreciate any help or advice anyone can offer.  Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

Re: Need help planning my next step

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi!  I am new to this forum, so please excuse my ignorance to abbreviations. 

I've been working on my credit for the past 2 years.  I began with a credit score of 415 and today I am up to 580.  Obviously I'd like to go higher.  All of my lines of credit are paid on time and I pay my credit card balances in full each month BEFORE the cycle date.  That way I always have 0% debt, but I'm still using my cards.  To date I have 1 $500 Cap One card, 1 $1500 New Mill card, 1 $300 Kohl's card, 1 $350 VS Card, and 1 $1000 secured loan through my credit union.  4 hard inquiries.  Will raising my credit limits increase my score?