Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Collection on Old Account Medical

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Collection on Old Account Medical

I've been working on repairing my credit for several months now. I've read post after post and learned a lot. But one thing I don't feel like that is fair:

I've got a Medical Collection 12/09/12 that JUST reported on ALL THREE CRA'S. The reporting collection agency appears to be someone who bought it from the original Collection agency. So they just now reported this. As I said it was medical and I can't remember when I would have experienced such a claim. Not that I haven't, the previous years I went thru thousands $ and paid them.

So my question or statement whichever is WHY or HOW can it be ok for a collection agency to report such an old debt causing a huge drop in my credit scores. Everything I have read says they (the ones reported and showing on my credit report) tend to age off and don't have such an effect on your score. But these agencies are reporting like the account was just opened last week causing that huge drop. This account wasn't opened last week it was opened 6 years ago and should reflect that on my credit file. "Date Opened" doesn't necessarily mean the date the account was originally opened. It is the date the account was opened with the new collection agency. So in theory this single collection could have more than one post on my credit file and all with different "date opened" dates each time it gets sold to a newer collection agency.

This can't be fair/legal. I was at 626 with Equifax and now this 6 year old account has me.down to below 600. And it's almost a time bared debt. Any opinions or advice. I have disputed and plan on sending a debt validation. Kinda double they can provide all the necessary info since it has been so long and they are considered a junk debt buyer.
Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: New Collection on Old Account Medical