Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What am I doing wrong?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What am I doing wrong?

Hello. I'm new to myFico and I'm here because I'm wondering why my credit score never seems to change.

I am in my late 40s and I never had a need for credit before about 4 years ago. I started with a low-balance credit card and since then, I have built up to having a few store cards and a couple of fairly low balance credit cards. I have doubled my income in the last 4 years and pay all my bills on time.

There is ONE instance of a store card balance that was very delinquent, which was a comedy of errors, but I did pay it off once it was brought to my attention. It was about 3yrs ago now.

Other than that, I really do pay everything on time. Credit cards, store cards, and my regular bills as well. I can understand that it said it was due to the length of time of accounts a couple of years ago, but I'm going on a few years here with a couple of accounts and I'm still considered as having new credit?

My credit score is always stuck in the mid 640 range. I have tried paying all the cards off and I lost points when I did. I try to maintain low balances but pay on time, and it rarely bumps me up even a couple of points.

What do I have to do to get my credit score higher than that? Would getting a secured loan for a car or something help?

Thanks for any light you can shed on this!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: What am I doing wrong?

First, welcome to the forum. So happy to have you posting here. 

When I first came to MyFico I couldn't understand why my scores were not higher since I was paying everything on time. After reading about closing dates and statement dates and how important those were for your score, I changed when I paid and when I charged. Right away I saw huge improvement in scores. Also, what is your utilization? That was a big factor for me.

Good luck.

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous