Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Direct Loans Payment Help

tag
ReBuildingAgn
Regular Contributor

Direct Loans Payment Help

Hello All,

This is my first time visiting this portion of the Forums. I'm buying a house this year and I'm currently under contract. My preapproval is contingent upon me getting my student loans lowered to $150/month or less. I have 2 loans: 1 with CFNC that's $50/month (600 balance) and Direct Loans (currently in deferment until 12/2012 and the payment showing is $270/month). At the beginning of the month I applied to get my payment on the IBR plan (under the IBR my payment will be $86/month). It's been processing for 2 weeks. I called the service last week and she said they are behind and it could take 20 business days or more for it to finish processing, maybe more maybe less. I have to get my loans under $150/month within a month for my mortgage to process. Has anyone had any success getting anyone on the phone that can process it the same day??

;Starting Score: Low 500s FICO Aug 2008
Current Score: EQ 668 EX 723 TU 723 (All FICO)
Goal Score: 720s Across the Board! Almost there!

Cap1 NHR ($1250), GE Rooms2Go ($4k), WalMart Discover ($3250), Barclay's Rewards MC ($2k), Amex BCE ($5K), Kohl's ($1K), Chase Freedom ($3K), Discover More ($1K)
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
IOBA
Senior Contributor

Re: Direct Loans Payment Help

My suggestion is to ask for an extension to close.  The sooner you do it the better.

I don't know if Direct Loans would or would not process it same day on the phone.  You can call and ask for a supervisor.

Message 2 of 6
ReBuildingAgn
Regular Contributor

Thanks for the info. The house is new construction and isn't schedule to be completed until April. My tentative closing date is 4/20/2012. I have quite a bit of time to get it taken care of, but I think I read on here somewhere that someone called DL and they processed it same day.