Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

22 Years old, assistance with first auto loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

22 Years old, assistance with first auto loan

Hi all, just looking for a couple questions to be answered as I am looking to get a loan on a car in the next couple months.

Looking to purchase $65,000 car (taxes and registration is included in that, new Tesla model 3 if that matters).

Note: I also already own a car, however, I bought that outright and didn't take a loan for it.

I can handle any type of down payment from $5000 to $25,000.

I currently work as an independent contractor during the summer and take home around $5000 a month (12 months, still including when im at school) (although that's the average, it usually just comes around in lump sums 3-4x a year, I'd assume I'd have to verify that with the bank by showing a paycheck or tax return).

I've heard about Debt to Income ratio being a factor to be approved.

I will not have anyone cosigning.

I currently operate 3 credit cards with a total $30,000 line of credit and have a FICO score of 780. No negative marks, 100% payment on time. Pay my cards off in full every month.

However, my only current debt would be

1. monthly rent (paid for with separate college savings account specifically for that which essentially makes it $0, rent is $400 if that matters).

2. Current car Insurance of $80 a month, (this will shoot to $200 a month with the addition of this car plus my current one. could also trade in current car for $14,000).

3. Minimum combined credit card payment of $100 (although I pay the full balance every month, roughly $300).

Questions:

What type of down payment should I prepare for?

Do you think banks would be willing to lend to me? (no real history of debt management)

Is a $5000 down payment possible? I could invest and grow the other $20,000 faster than the interest accrues on my loan.