Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Approved thru credit union, Question

tag
nate79416
Regular Contributor

Approved thru credit union, Question

I was approved for a auto loan at my credit union, for 10k with 2k down, I am only looking for a used small suv my question is, do I have to use the whole amount, because I can find a small suv for less then 10k that's for sure. If I find a car-suv for less will that decrease my down payment?? I'm new to this whole credit union auto loan thing. Also what are the steps when dealing with the dealership but having the credit union finance me?? I don't want to use the whole 10k. Thanks for any help

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Approved thru credit union, Question

Not all credit unions are alike, so you are likely to get numerous different responses to your question.

The credit unions I transaction business with base their loan decisions for used autos on the specific auto you have chosen to finance.  Primarily because one of the key factors on loans for used autos is the LTV.  It isn't an open ended situation where they approve the loan without knowing the vehicle and it's condition.

In other words, if you have settled on buying a used car for $6,200 the credit union will determine the value of the vehicle then apply any LTV parameters to the loan.  Let's say the credit union values the car at $5,500 and they have an 85% LTV for used autos.  That means the max loan they would approve is 85% of $5,500, or $4,675.  However, you agreed to buy the car at $6,200 before tax and or other applicable fees. So in the end, you will need a down payment of at least $1,525, or the difference between the $6,200 you agreed to pay less the $4,675 loan approval. 

Rather than make any assumptions, it's wise for you to pose the question directly with the loan source because they have the final say.  Everything else is conjecture.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable