Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto Loan Info Please

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Auto Loan Info Please

I got rear-ended a few days ago and there is enough damage to technically total out my 18 year old truck. (I LIKE the old truck dangit!) It is still drivable, just repair cost > value situation. 

I am attempting to get the other driver to settle without his insurance company. Actually, the driver's dad because I got slammed by a teen driver, it's just less hassle for me that way.

So I will have about $1500 from the settlement either way, plus whatever value I can get out of the truck as a trade. So perhaps $2500 total if I'm lucky.

I am NOT a car proud person. I have actually NEVER owned a new car, the newest has been 2 years old at the time of purchase. And that was a bank repo deal. So certainly not worried about $20k+ loans etc. I'm happy in the price range of $5k-$10K. My total yearly driving (without road trip vacations) is a whopping 5000 miles. So a vehicle with 100,000 miles on it is not a big deal. 

On to the questions.

I have a very thin credit file...not helped by never having had a vehicle loan before. Cash was king...... 

So here are the details:

Scores running around 650

Income $40,000

No mortgage

No cash on hand (Student Loans...woohoo, trying to pay off early and save the interest)

1 CC at age of 1.5 years

5 at age of 2 months

NO collections, charge off's

1 30 day late pay from last year on the older credit card

Time at residence: 8 months

TIme at previous residence: 4.5 years

Time at current job: 8.5 years

I'm having trouble getting an approval outside of the "sub prime" category through the small, independent lots. Since my vehicle IS drivable and I only have an 8 mile commute, I'm not stressed.

What do auto lenders look for? AAOA? UTIL? Score?

Please advise me how to be more attractive to a decent lender. 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Pway
Valued Contributor

Re: Auto Loan Info Please