cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto Loans / Refinancing / Standard Questions...

tag
junebuggy45
New Visitor

Auto Loans / Refinancing / Standard Questions...

Hi everyone- very new here, but found this when doing a search for "do i refinance my car or not?"

Backstory: I really ruined my credit when I graduated high school as I had no idea what I was doing. Now, I obviously pay my stuff, but it's going to take a while to rebuild my credit worthiness. I had to buy a car back in February 2013, and I'd really like to refinance to get a better rate. I currently finance through Capital One Auto. Does anyone have advice on how to do this, what companies I would probably qualify for... etc. I honestly have NO idea what I'm doing...

Much appreciated!! Smiley Happy

Credit Score:590 (I use credit karma to monitor)
Income: $3,035/month
Lenght of Employment: 1 yr
Previous Loan Experience: currently with capital one, paying on time $385/ month. Before, was on a loan with my mom as cosigner and paid all on time and balance was paid off in 60 mos
Debt-to-Income (DTI): 29.9% (i included rent and my current car payment..if you include my student loan payment then it's 37%)
Year of Car: 2009
Miles: 55,000
Purchase/Refinance: Refinance
Requested loan term (XX Months): 60 Month Finance
Down payment amount: $0
Co-borrower/Co-Signer: None
Other:

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: Auto Loans / Refinancing / Standard Questions...

Welcome to the forum. If you do not have negativity equity then it might be possible. If you are a member of a CU, I would start there. Often, CUs are more lenient with past credit woes and might give you better terms.
Message 2 of 3
jackg
Established Contributor

Re: Auto Loans / Refinancing / Standard Questions...