Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto loan help??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Auto loan help??

So I would like to get an auto loan to buy a car that my dad bought for me through a buy here pay here lot. Yes yes I know horrible decision but he put a down payment for me on it last year before college when I had zero verifiable income and the interest is outragous and he couldn't get financing himself since his credit is horrible. My question is how can I go about  doing this if I wanted to? The loan amount is small at $6000 left from a previous $8000 so any advice would help. 

My Fico 8 scores are: Ex 727 TU 731 EQ 720

Inq: EX 4 TU 8 EQ 6

I am a college student who makes roughly $550 every two weeks so not a lot but still verifiable income and I don't have any rent paymenets since I live at home with my mom. I am even starting a new job in a week that will start me off at $10 and once I'm done with training they will make me full time and pay me $12.50/hr. So any advice in regards to my quesion will help a lot since I really don't wanna pay like 3-4k in interest on such a small amount for a loan :/

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Auto loan help??

Most likely the car is underwater, meaning you owe more on it than it is currently worth. 

What you will have to do is save enough money to pay off the difference first, so steps are find out what that number is, figure out how long it will take you to save that (Obviously while making payments). I would sign up for a credit union that is local to you, and deposit the money there. Talk to a loan officer about it and explain your situation, they often can tell you exactly how much they would lend you in that kind of situation (if they will).