cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How should I go about this?

tag
Nenne

How should I go about this?

Okay, I'm a recent college grad-23 years old. I have landed a job set to start the first week of August where I will earn $51900/year. My EQ Score is 571, my debt ratio is high but the amount of revolving debt I owe is only about $3500. I have a hospital bill and I bank fee in collections. (I know I can get the bank fee paid in July).

I have never been late on a payment. If I'm forgetting to let you know something please let me know. The thing is, the car I'm currently using my mom's and she's pushing me to see if I can get a car financed now so that she can have her car back since she needs it. Is there anyway I can be financed in July showing that I have a documented job offer? My mom claims that as a recent grad with a job lined up people will work with me, but I haven't heard anything about this before.

I can understand because of my score my rate will be high, but I can refinance in the future as I don't think it will be hard for me to pay of all of my accounts and bring my score up. I just need a car NOW. I also don't belong to a credit union.

Is there any advice you can offer me?
Thanks

Message Edited by Nenne on 06-27-2008 07:34 PM
6/27/08 EQ-571
1/2/09 TU-646 EX-626 EQ-629
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
WhirledPeasPlease
Moderator Emeritus

Re: How should I go about this?

I have a hard time believing anyone will finance you until you start your job.  Of course I could be wrong since dealers have a lot of inventory, but lending practices have tightened a bit.

Have you considered getting a quote to rent a car until you start your job?  I know it's not as much fun, but it is one option.  You might want to check into a local dealership and let them know your situation.  Many of them have contracts with local rental companies and they might try to help you out if they know you'll come back and buy a car from them.