Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Business Credit 101

tag
Tuscani
Moderator Emeritus

Business Credit 101

I know this thread is a long time coming.. I finally took the time considering all of the interest in the forums about establishing and building business credit. As always, I am not a lawyer and YMMV.

Establish the Business

1. NAME YOUR COMPANY - The first step in this process is to select a company name. Be sure you pick one that has not been selected by another company in your state, You can check with you Secretary of State and once that is done you can move onto the next step.

2. INCORPORATE YOUR COMPANY - Now that you have selected your business name, you are going to need to establish your corporation with the state of your choosing. To do this, you can go to "Free Registered Agent". which is owned by InCorp Services. They will give you registered agent services free for the first year. They also only charge a nominal fee plus your states filing fees to incorporate your business.

3. OBTAIN AN EIN - Once you have incorporated your business you will need to obtain a Federal Employer Identification Number. You can file form SS-4 online at the Internal Revenue Service website.

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=102767,00.html

Once you have completed this form you will obtain your EIN in a matter of seconds. Be sure to print it out and write it down because they do not send you an email confirmation. This is the number that you will need in order to apply for credit under your business name without a personal guarantee.