Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Approval Odds and Thoughts?

tag
BuildingBetterCredit2020
New Contributor

Chase Approval Odds and Thoughts?

Trying this a second time as for some reason my first post was removed. 

Hi Everyone. Looking for some advice. I'm interested in possibly applying for the CSP or the Chase-backed United Explorer card; Different yet similar cards I know. A little background - I've been working hard on improving my credit for several years now. Got my BofA card in 11/2018, Discover in 12/2019, and the AMEX this year in 6/2020. I've consistently kept my utilizations individually and collectively around 3%. I've been interested in getting one of the Chase cards for sometime, primarily for dining/travel rewards. However, my understanding is that Chase is pretty stringent with their credit score standards although there are some few exceptions. In light of this, I've been "gardening" the past 5-6 months. In preparation for any possible favorable future application, I also opened up a savings account at my local Chase branch and dumped in a small sum, $1K. I received a pre-selected offer for the CFU in the mail this summer, but ignored that. I just received a pre-selected offer for the CSP in the mail yesterday. I also have now have offers for Southwest, CSP, CSR, CFU, Bonvoy Boundless, FreedomFlex, and United Explorer when I login to my Chase account (where I didn't have them before). The reason I would consider the United Card over the CSP is that I've heard that the co-branded cards CAN sometimes be easier to get approved for, and I happen to be a loyal United flyer.