Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover CLI denied?!

tag
BuildingBetterCredit2020
New Contributor

Discover CLI denied?!

So I was approved for a Discover IT card with a CL of $11K back in Dec 2020. I've kept my CU pretty low on this card as well as others (~3-4% on average) and have PIF every month. Figured, it's been 13 months so why not hit the love button and see if I can get a CLI to help even further with my CU. I clicked the button a little over a week ago and was denied. Finally got the letter in the mail as to the reason. 

"LOW USAGE ON EXISTING LINE OF CREDIT IN PREVIOUS MONTH(S)"

Really?! That's the reason? Guess I'm new to this game. I get it...show that you need more credit to get more credit. Spend more and pay it off. Seems somewhat counterintuitive however, because you're encouraging card holders to run up a balance and potentially get in trouble. I guess at the end of the day, creditors care less about your CU than you do,  and more about how much debt they can get you to run up without you going into default.  *smh*

Sept 2023

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover CLI denied?!

I think their take is more along the lines of: if you aren't using a significant portion of your current limit, why do you need more?  

Message 2 of 10
Remedios
Credit Mentor

It is not counterintuitive at all.

If youre using 3%, your limit is more than adequate.

If you were using 97% of your limit, then it's not quite adequate. 

As far as encouraging consumers to run up cards, that's absolutely not the case. 

You simply don't have the need for more, so they won't give you more.

If they tripped your limit right now, you'd still be putting $300 on it.

That makes no financial sense, especially given the amount they have to hold in reserves. 

You got a great SL from Disco, you have sufficient limit on it, and if one day your card sees increase in use, you might see CLI. 

Message 3 of 10
House2021