Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with applying for credit cards

tag
Cjethompson2017
Frequent Contributor

Help with applying for credit cards

Hey all! I've been rebuilding mine and my husbands credit for the last several months using the forums here. We have made amazing improvement with the information we've received. We're getting ready to close on our first home in 2 weeks, but after we close I need to continue working on building our credit. I do not have a single revolving credit card that isn't a store card. I didn't know the difference when I applied for the credit cards I have. On top of that, I only have 2. They're both Comenity products with pretty low credit limits ($190 and $250). I'm ready to upgrade to a big girl card. 😂 I am wanting to apply for something at navy federal, but I'm not sure which product would be best? Or where to start? If I don't get an unsecured card, I'm going to opt for the secured card to build a relationship. 

Anyways, this may be a stupid question. Lol. When I'm applying, do I include my husbands income because we share money and will be paying the bill together? Seems like a silly question, but I obviously want to fill out the app correctly. 

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: Help with applying for credit cards

Which card you apply for depends on your needs/wants.

Do you prefer cashback or points?

Do you travel often (not including current pandemic; during "normal" times, I mean)?

Are you willing to pay an annual fee?

Do you care about perks with cards?

Do you have a preference for lenders?

Also, yes I believe you should be able to use household income in your credit apps seeing as you're married. Smiley Happy