Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NFCU More Rewards Approval Odds?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

NFCU More Rewards Approval Odds?

Just got accepted into the NFCU and I am interested in applying for their more rewards credit card, are my odds okay or should I wait longer?
Data Points:
FICO scores: EX:732 | EQ: 733 | TU: 728
Cards:
- Discover Student: CL: 1,600, Aug, 2019
- Amex BCE: CL: 6,000, July 2020
- CFU: CL: 6,200, Sept 2020
- Amex Amazon Biz: CL: 10,000, Sept, 2020
AAoA: 9 Months
Oldest Card: 1y5mo
Last HP: 4mo
Income: 25k I'm a student so it's not that high

Do you know if they're inquiry sensitive and I should wait until 6mo or should I be okay to apply and get it now?

Also, I've heard they're conservative for CLs on your first card, (I've read got like ~1k for theifr first card but then like 10k+ on their second) Should I get another card first that will give me a lower CL and then go for the more rewards second when they know me better and I can get a higher CL? Or if I request a CLI for my first card they'll increase it a lot.

I want to get their more wards but should I apply for that now or wait?
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
blindambition
Senior Contributor

Re: NFCU More Rewards Approval Odds?

They will pull TU 9, and your TU 8 is good. I'm sure you'll have no problem. Don't be surprised on low limit on first card. Possible for a $500-$1k limit. Some recent DP have shown successful recon on initial low limits.

Navy is usually concerned on DTI, but not new accounts, or inquiries.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

@blindambition wrote:

They will pull TU 9, and your TU 8 is good. I'm sure you'll have no problem. Don't be surprised on low limit on first card. Possible for a $500-$1k limit. Some recent DP have shown successful recon on initial low limits.

Navy is usually concerned on DTI, but not new accounts, or inquiries.

How do I find my TU9? I use Experian for my credit scores.