Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

building thin file cant get approvals

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

building thin file cant get approvals

so im new to credit fico 8 are 601ex 615eq 623tu i have a bunch of subprime acct  500 first premeir, 600 fingerhut, 500 victoria secret, 300 cap one platinum and 300 credit one and 2,000 genesis fs card services current utilization is 47% and i have a ton of inquiries due to trying to build my credit file. I will be paying down to under 15% utl in the next month. AAOA is only 5 months. the longest card i have is cap one which will be 1 yr in dec. score simulator estimated increase in fico once utl goes down. i currently have no baddies and 100% on time payment history. My grandmother is going to add me as authorized user to a 10 yr old cap one card which will increase my AAoa. How can i get approved for better credit cards and personal loans? im looking to get care credit 7,000 for a procedure. 

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: building thin file cant get approvals

Time, since your file is so new it is going to take time.

Are you sure there are no negatives, your scores seem very low for a clean file? What is your utilization on your current cards?

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

hi, when your credit is brand new you have to be careful with everything you do. the utilization is hurting your score very very badly. at this point your scores would be between 720 - 740 if you had kept low utilizations and didn't go crazy on inqs. my credit is brand new and 8mo old and you can see what cards i have and my scores in my sig line.

apping for a bunch of subprime accts all at once doesn't build your credit score faster so that actually has hurt you a little bit because now it's going to look like you're over-extending yourself when you app for the cards you do want. it would be better if you didn't app for anything else right now if you can avoid it.