Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Gold arrived

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex Gold arrived

My Amex Gold card arrived today.  I'm new to a charge card and with NPSL I thought I'd check to see what my limit was.  I checked my spending power to find out it was only 2,000.  My other Amex BCP has a 10,000 limit on it.  I'm a bit confused... How does Amex determine what your spending limit is?  What can you do to increase the spending limit?  Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 35
34 REPLIES 34
Shadowfactor
Valued Contributor

Re: Amex Gold arrived

The check spending power tool is used a single transaction and doesn’t reflect the overall amount you can spend on the card each month.

Given that it’s a new account, this is quite common and it will increase over time with regular use of the card.
You can always call American Express on the phone and ask to be approved for a larger amount if the Online tool “declines” you.

You mentioned you had a BCE at 10K CL. How much of your current CL do you spend every month ? Your useage of American Express accounts, length of history, credit report , income and other factors all play a part in your internal limit.
If you have a high limit BCE but are only spending $1500 a month in several smaller transactions.
$2000 for a single transaction can be more then sufficient.

Every time you spend on the card. It will affect your future spending power. Using the card regularly will see an increase in spending power.

I wouldn’t play with the spending power tool either. Use it for its intended purpose. Every time you type in an amount. The computer will look for a authorization in that amount and it reduces your internal limit.

Total Revolving Limits $254,800

Message 2 of 35
UpperNwGuy
Valued Contributor

From this point forward, do not check your spending limit again unless you plan to spend more than $2,000 on a single purchase.