Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex Gold -- when to apply?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex Gold -- when to apply?

Hey guys- so I was new to the country a couple years ago and only started building my credit in the past year. I took out a personal loan and paid it back each month on auto pay (finished paying loan), then got a partially secured card at BoA (which i graduated from this month after 5 months). My TU score 705 and my income is 50k a year (not including my husband's), I currently have one card w a 1k limit and no debt/no late payments. I am thinking about applying for the Amex gold. I was wondering if I get my credit score to about 720-30, would I have a good chance at approval?

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Amex Gold -- when to apply?

Check for pre-quals on their website.

Message 2 of 10
Ficoproblems247
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Check for pre-quals on their website.

+1. AMEX usually is friendly to thin, clean files. Check their pre-approval site like was suggested, and if you have any offers for any of their charge cards and/or core cards you will very likely be good to pull the trigger. They will pull your EX and use your FICO 8 for approval, on rare occasion they could pull a 2nd bureau. 

FICO 8 Sep '23 EX 755 EQ 765 TU 739
TCL $199,800
Message 3 of 10
rostrow416
Established Contributor

Check your EX, its what AMEX pulls.  Even without a prequal, you can still be approved, especially if you are over 700.

AMEX Gold | Purdue FCU $20,000 | FNBO Evergreen $15,000 | TFCU Plat Visa $15,000 | PenFed Platinum Rewards $15,000 | PenFed Pathfinder $15,000 | Citizen's Bank Cash Back+ $15,000 | Synchrony Premier MC $10,000 | SG Visa $10,000 | NFCU MoreRewards $7,000 | NFCU cashRewards $17,000 | Discover IT $6,000 | Capital One BuyPower $950 | AMEX BCP $5,000 | AMEX Amazon Prime Business $3,000