cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to ask for a CL increase ? Phone vs Internet vs In-person ?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best way to ask for a CL increase ? Phone vs Internet vs In-person ?

Does it matter how you ask for a credit limit increase ? Phone vs Internet vs In-person in a branch ?

I want to have the CL for my 8-9 month old Bank Of America credit card increased from $1500 to about $6000, and want to convince them the best way possible. I'm currently a graduate student at an Ivy League school and my local Bank of America branch knows that the students at our university are well enough to pay their dues. It's no wonder that they decided to give me my first ever credit card with an initial CL of $1500, despite having no prior credit history. On the other hand though, they might also think that since I'm a student, I might not be able to pay off $6000 or something, and might decline if I go in a branch.

What do you guys think ?

Message 2 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

How much credit increase should I ask for ?

Hi guys. I have a Bank of America Credit Card which I've had for about 8-9 months and I've always paid my bills on time, sometimes within like of week of when a bill came out. This was my first credit card ever (from which I started building my credit history), and from day one I've had a CL of $1500. I would have thought that by now they would have increased my CL, but they haven't. I want to ask for a CL increase, but don't know what to ask for. I was hoping for maybe $5k or $6k, so that it gives me to purchase something like a laptop too (while remaining within 30% utilization). Or is asking for $5 ~ $6k too much ?