Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Card Approval with AU History Only

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Card Approval with AU History Only

Hello folks, I am a recent college grad and a virtual credit noob. I have never really had had credit in my own name. I only have AU history (1 yr from a CapOne card, 500 CL). I know that most banks will not accept this for a credit card approval. Does anyone know of any banks that will approve me. Will I have better luck with CU's and community banks? Also I can be added as a joint account older on my gf's Macy's store card (1 year, 1500 CL) aswell as her installment loan from the local CU (1 yr, 2000 balance). Will this help? Any solid advice would be much appreciated. Thanx

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
AndySoCal
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit Card Approval with AU History Only

There are two paths you can try. When I first started trying to get credit I had no credit history not even an AU account. I has able to get a store card from a department store. This was almost 30 years ago. You can try that route and then work from thier. But do not go app crazy after you get your first card..  The other route you can go is with your local bank or CU and try to get a secured credit card. The usual minimum amount needed is $300.00 or more.   Hope this helps

FICO Scores XPN v8 802 V2 831 (SDFCU) TUC 803 v8 EFX 807 (10/2023)
Discover 09/90 19,000, JCPenney 10/2008 4,700 US Bank Cash 12,000 Citibank Custom Cash 5/2015 11,100 State Dept. FCU 15,000 06/2023 , 02/2024 Redstone FCU Signature VISA 10,000 Banking: Ally Bank Credit Unions: Lafayette FCU Fortera FCU State Department FCU Pelican CU

Pelican State CU Redstone FCU

Message 2 of 17
Meltdownblitz
Frequent Contributor

I'd go with my bank if I were you. Then try for premium cards after 6 months - a year.