Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Limit too high?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Limit too high?

Hi everybody, Newbie here.  I have received some letters from credit cards saying they increased my CL to pretty high amounts, $16k, $20k, that sort of thing.  I do use credit cards for anything I can, but usually a few thousand on one or two of them, and I always pay off at the due date.  I have excellent credit.  I am wondring if there is a negative to asking them to decrease my CL, or if it's something I should even worry about.  

I have around 10 good credit cards (Visa, AmEx, Discover, MC) and a few retail cards.  Are they just waiting for me to screw up?  Would love to hear your thoughts.  TIA!

Message 1 of 59
58 REPLIES 58
BronzeTrader
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit Limit too high?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi everybody, Newbie here.  I have received some letters from credit cards saying they increased my CL to pretty high amounts, $16k, $20k, that sort of thing.  I do use credit cards for anything I can, but usually a few thousand on one or two of them, and I always pay off at the due date.  I have excellent credit.  I am wondring if there is a negative to asking them to decrease my CL, or if it's something I should even worry about.  

I have around 10 good credit cards (Visa, AmEx, Discover, MC) and a few retail cards.  Are they just waiting for me to screw up?  Would love to hear your thoughts.  TIA!

I asked to decrease my credit lines all time.  This way I can limit my own exposure to certain bank and keep my credit relationship with them open.  Almost no bank wanst to keep a $100,000 or $200,000 credit line open with one single person or family.  Over the past year, I've closed or decrease my total credit line $200,000.

I had a Crate & Barrel card from Comenity, which had a credit line of $20,000.  Smiley Very Happy  I'll never buy that much dinnerware.  

Message 2 of 59
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor