Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deferred interest

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Deferred interest

I tried to search for an answer here but had no luck. 

I have been working on building my credit for the past 11 months.

I have done allot of reading and have raised my scores each over 125 points in that time

but there are still things I don't fully understand. 

I am trying to figure out, if I purchase an item with deferred interest and already have regular purchases on my credit card, what happens when I make payments?

I always pay my balances in full before the close dates to avoid interest charges.

How do I pay off the regular purchases but leave the deferred interest purchase on card? 

Sorry if this doesn't make any sense. 

Thank you in advance for your help.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Deferred interest

You should really ask that question to your bank. They typically apply payments to newest charges first so they can catch you with interest. Though they may track this transaction differently as its more in their favor for you to not pay it off early.

Deferred interest can be very tricky. Most of us here will advise that folx avoid such situations. In any event talk to the creditor and try to get the answer in writing.
Message 2 of 11
expatCanuck
Super Contributor

Google the following:

calculate trailing interest khan academy

It should provide two links to a couple of short videos on the topic which I found helpful.

2023 Goal: save 3 months' net income

Starting FICO8: 666 (give or take a FICO)
[ Last INQ 12-Feb-2024 ]
EQ8415 INQ (Auto, CC, HELOC, 2 mort)7y2m
EX8125 INQ (2 CC, 2 mort, HELoan)6y11m
TU8294 INQ (3 CC, 1 mort)6y6m
5/243/12AoYA 0m | AoOA 23y6m~3%
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you. I will give then a call before making any deferred interest purchase.
Message 4 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you. Looks like there are a few good videos for me to watch.