Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied by Chase Freedom + denied after Recon

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Denied by Chase Freedom + denied after Recon

Right, so I am new to credit. I had a clean slate of credit, no good history, no bad history - until December 2013 in which I got an auto loan.

Since then, I have been paying it on time, no missed or late payments. I have Chase checking and Chase savings. I have never had a credit card. The only other credit history I have is a phone from T-Mobile, which is also 100% on time payments. I went to the bank in person and applied there - instantly denied by computer. Insufficient credit history. So I followed the advice of this forum, and called the recon number, and the man I spoke to was very polite and nice, but I was denied again. They want longer credit history, or more established credit.

So......instead, I went and accepted the mail offers I have been getting from Capital One. I applied online and got approved instantly today.

Do I lose any hope of Chase Freedom until 2015? I think recon, in my case, has no effect because of insufficient history? What do you guys think?

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
CreditMagic7
Mega Contributor

Re: Denied for Chase Freedom at bank + recon phone

With Chase, even a first Recon denial is not the absolute end of it. Let the initial negative results fade out and make another run through them.

Message 2 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Denied by Chase Freedom + denied after Recon

give it a few months on capital one; then re-apply with Chase Freedom

Message 3 of 19
mongstradamus
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Right, so I am new to credit. I had a clean slate of credit, no good history, no bad history - until December 2013 in which I got an auto loan.