cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has Discover cash back 5% always been like this...?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Has Discover cash back 5% always been like this...?

Hello I am new to discover only have had my card for about three weeks extremely excited one of the cards that I want it with a great credit line (personally)of 10K I was super excited about the cash back with Discover I have a capital one card quicksilver one of my first major cashback credit card I want to make discover my primary card however I just learned they have cashback broken up into quarters and you could only get the 5% cashback on the specific Stores has it always been like that? #Discoveritcard 

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Boss2Boss
New Contributor

Re: Has Discover cash back 5% always been like this...?

Yes

Message 2 of 12
ChazzieT
Frequent Contributor

Discover IT has been a rotating 5% category card for as long as I've known about it. Although they occasionally list specific stores (like Home Depot for June), they usually list transaction code groups (home improvement).

If your asking about rotating categories in general, Discover was the pioneer of cash back and my mom had one of the original discover cards which gave the same percentage back on every purchase.

Message 3 of 12
wasCB14
Super Contributor

Browsing old DFS 10-K filings...

Discover it card offers 5% Cashback Bonus in categories that change each quarter up to a quarterly maximum (signing up is required) and1% Cashback Bonus on all other purchases.
Discover it Chrome card offers 2% Cashback Bonus at gas stations and restaurants on up to $1,000 in combined purchases each quarterand 1% Cashback Bonus on all other purchases.
Discover it Miles card offers 1.5 miles for every dollar spent on purchases.
Discover it Business card offers 1.5% Cashback Bonus on all purchases.