Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does financing work with credit cards? Walmart Store card specifically

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How does financing work with credit cards? Walmart Store card specifically

Say I have a $500 limit Walmart store card

I want to buy a TV that's $500. 0% interest for 12-months.

Now I noticed my minimum payment is $20.

If I buy the TV and finance it. Do I pay $20 minimum for do I have to pay $42 minimum cause of the tv financing and it saying minimum payment is needed.

I can afford to pay the tv in full with cash but I'm new to credit. Oldest card is one year one month (Cap1) I have a Walmart card that doesn't show activity and was curious about the financing aspect of cards.
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How does financing work with credit cards? Walmart Store card specifically

First of all, my personal rule is to never do a 0% card balance deal unless you have at least 3-6 months of minimum payments socked away.  If you don't, you probably can't afford the item you're thinking about and it can get you into trouble later if you don't pay it off in the time frame allotted for 0% interest.

Secondly, doing the 0% interest usually means not earning any rewards on that purchase.  Keep that in mind because the rewards typically are pretty good so maybe saving up for 6 months means you'll save cash then.

The terms of the Walmart Sync card are here to read: https://www.synchronybankterms.com/gecrbterms/pdf/WalmartCreditCard.pdf   Search for "promotional" in that PDF for exact terms.

From what I read of that PDF, it says as long as you pay off the entire promotional balance before the period expires, it won't charge deferred interest.  This means you can make minimum payments, or full payments, or anything in between as long as ALL those payments equal the promotional charges before the deadline.