Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long after collections before Citi will offer new card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How long after collections before Citi will offer new card

Hello everyone!

Newbie here with a question about being offered new credit card. I once had two Citi credit cards that fell into collections and were charged off. However, enough time has passed now that these have fallen off of my report. I never repaid them.

My question - since Citi has pretty much cornerd the market on retail credit cards, how long will they keep me in the penalty box before offering me new credit? Ever? I also had a Capital One credit card that was charged off from the same time period. They offered me a new card within two years. 

Just curious if anyone has any experience in this area. Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9
creditguy
Valued Contributor

Re: How long after collections before Citi will offer new card

Cap one is very forgiving, Citi not so much. While the CO's are no longer on your CR's they are alive and well in Citi's memory bank. Can't say how long for sure they will hold a grudge, have you checked for pre quals? Checking that and applying are the only ways to know for sure if your blacklisted. Which card were you planning on apping for? And as a side note I'd say Citi is nowhere near corneried the market on retail cards.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes, you are most certainly going to be in the penalty box without repaying.

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

I burned Citi in 2009 for $15k.  I have since paid it back but I also have  a judgement on my credit to show for it and the likelihood that I will have to wait at least  a few more years before they would even consider me for a card again. It's totally my fautl, I ignored my debt rather than face it for years.  There was nothing I could do anyway so I became a pro at avoidance.